Imperfect repetitions

Drawing connections
Inspired by the many surface pattern designs I see on the internet, fabrics, stationary, I thought I’d have a go. Here’s what I did.

  • Put masking tape to set top and bottom border to create a square shape to work in.
  • I wanted to keep it simple and decided on a dominant line direction – verticals for both.
  • Covered the whole area with shapes. The little branch is based on an earlier sketch. The persimmon is drawn from the 1 piece of fruit but turned 9 times to get a slightly different drawing angle.
  • Decide on a minimal palette of 2 – 3 colours.
  • I particularly enjoyed filling in the background. I always wonder what to do with backgrounds. But in this case, the background broken up into many shapes was a pattern in itself.

    Drawing shapes repeatedly somehow highlights a myriad of little imperfections.

    Would love to hear from you!

    