Ginger jar conversations

IMG_3941.JPG
The ink drawing on the left took about 20 mins. The ‘head talk’ went like this:
Look at the verticals.
Look at the horizontals.
Don’t get distracted by the patterns. Get the overall shape first.
Work out darks, lights.
Ok. Now draw the patterns. Make them follow the shape of the jar.

The result? A bit elongated but recognisable enough.

The pencil drawing on the right took 30 minutes. This was the ‘head talk’:
Don’t think.
Just draw. Look. Draw.
But the sides look strange.
That’s ok. Keep drawing. Draw it strange.
The verticals don’t look vertical.
Thats ok, don’t draw them vertical.

The result? A pear shaped ginger jar.

The lesson? The reminder of how annoying the advice ‘draw what you see’ can be for me. Seeing is not the only thing that helps. Seeing needs understanding. If you don’t understand what you are seeing or unable to see something clearly, then pear shaped drawing is what I’ll get.

Ok. And the complex bit? I don’t want to necessarily draw or copy exactly what’s in front of me.

The real lesson? Keep drawing. With each new drawing, there’s hope – hope that I’ll discover or understand or work out something I hadn’t before.

And seriously…you have to laugh at that odd looking ginger jar.

4 thoughts on “Ginger jar conversations

  1. You know, your ‘head talk’ reminds me of the time my mother tried to teach me to draw a figurine monkey I had sitting on my window sill. I was a teenager. I attended art class once a week at school, but my ‘style’, for lack of a better description, was what I call immature Art Naïve. Not very good, in other words! I made the attempt at drawing the monkey, with my mother’s increasing frustrations at my lack of being able to ‘see’ and, therefore, to put it to paper, just like your head conversation! I did get something down onto paper, and it kinda looked like a monkey, but that was the last time I did any drawing. I didn’t like her bullying ways…Painting for me was about using brushes directly without the benefit of a drawn outline to guide the brush.

    After this long preamble, I have to say I like your jar on the right…very much, in fact!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Another interesting comment. The voice of ‘you can’t do something’ can come from so many places – society, people around us and the loudest of them all, the inner voice. That voice tries to stop lots of stuff – playing music, trying something new, doing hand stands in yoga (!). Pushing on helps break that barrier. And…not having great expectations.

      Ok. Where’s your pencil and paper?

      Like

      1. OK! My pencil and paper is my cellphone…I’m starting to get the real feel for PicSketch as a watercolouring tool and have been practising. Quite pleased. Am in process of uploading some of the latest images right now, as I type (well, after I’ve finished sending this comment).

        Like

Would love to hear from you!

