Lines of possibility

IMG_4030.JPG

IMG_4031.JPG

IMG_4033.JPG
‘Tis sad but feels true…that my set up lines, preparatory lines are more interesting than the resulting drawing. Let me ponder why this may be so, So for this week’s practice in Liz Steel’s class, we’re to use bathroom things, arrange them a bit and use rough pencil to set up their proportions, measurements. I like doing this. It makes you ask you questions like where is this in relation to that, how big is this compared to that. I like the red on white.

They are thinking lines. They are lines of possibility. It is not too late to change your composition or what you are doing. And maybe that’s why I have always liked the drawings of artists, the storyboards of filmakers, the rough sketches of architects. I see their thoughts. I hear a dialogue…well sort of…I imagine I do.

Would love to hear from you!

