Lessons from Paul Cezanne

IMG_4254-0.JPG
I wanted to continue my lesson with Paul. I’ve always loved his little watercolour – Rose in a vase – such a simplified composition, so still, so quiet. And yet, it’s probably ‘just a study’ in darks and lights, lines appearing and disappearing. Do a google image search. See what you think.

Studies can be so wonderful…one can see the artist thinking, working out something, trying out something. It’s not a ‘ta-dah, this is it’ kind of work.

And so for this drawing, I’ve put some freshly picked rosemary in an op shop bought jug and perched it on top of a yoga brick so I could draw at eye level today. Why? Because.

I used a watercolour pencil as I found yesterday’s pencil lines too heavy, Drawing was quick but I slowed down when working out the darks and lights. Working in greyscale before using colour is a useful way of doing this.

As I was doing the leaves, I wondered how Paul might have painted those. I think he would have done it such a way that would suggest them rather than literal about it. That is a skill in simplifying something complex. Now that’s another creative problem to try to work on.

Thank you for visiting. You know when you’re with a few people drawing or making something and you all go into a creative companionable silence? Well, it kind of feels like that.

2 thoughts on “Lessons from Paul Cezanne

  1. Thanks for sharing your drawing lessons with Paul. This is exactly what we should be doing, being free to learn and not always needing to perform. There’s so much to learn from artists who have gone before us. Last week I saw the ‘freshest’ sketch of a young girl. As it was in a recent book on drawing it took me a while to register that it was drawn by Rembrandt. I think it was a drawing of his wife Saskia. But what lessons there were in the simplicity of his approach.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Another thought-provoking comment Leonie. A google image search on saskia drawings shows Rembrandt did quite a few. I’m going to look at one and explore what he was doing. Of course, it’s just a conversation with one’s self but…it is one. Thank you.

      Like

Would love to hear from you!

