A focal point or lack thereof

IMG_4602.JPG

IMG_4604.JPG

IMG_4603.JPG
Plein air drawing on my balcony versus in an open and wide landscape is such a huge difference. Yes. I know you know that. I know that too. I just don’t do the latter often enough and because of that, the drawing experience felt a bit disorientating!

Finding a focal point is challenging. In the end I decided that much like listening to a fantastic lecture where you just take notes of everything you think important to record, I did the same in drawing. Record whatever my eye is captured by. Doesn’t matter.

Where was I? In beautiful autumnal countryside Mansfield, Victoria – the air, huge skies, silly laughs in good company and lots of quick-ish sketches on long walks on dusty roads is a refreshing pause from the world of work. (Work? What?)

Would love to hear from you!

