A cutting from my neighbour


This cutting has lasted a while. It has come from a rambly type orchid that spills up and over a large pot. When in good conditions it brings strings of mini white orchids, apparently with a lovely perfume. Don’t think that will happen with this cutting.

Still, as a random thing to draw, I kind of like the way it breaks up a visual space. As I’ve used pencil and oil crayon, there are traces of where I’ve ‘moved’ the leaves. A thing I like about a drawing is being able to see the decisions – small or large – that have been made.

Maybe that’s the imperfectionist coming out in me.

Oil pastel and pencil, 19 x 21cm

4 thoughts on “A cutting from my neighbour

  1. This is beautiful – you managed those values perfectly. While you may have moved some leaves, the impression left has created an awesome quiet back shadow.

    Like

Would love to hear from you!

