Beauty in the act of making


I have a small stack of paper mache cups – the size of Chinese tea cups. They sit in a wobbly stack against a pile of books. Even though they have been there for a year or two, they caught my eye one morning for no particular reason. They just did.

I would love to say they are finely crafted and of great beauty but that would be a huge exaggeration! However, they do take me back to an evening I made them with my 8 and 5 year old neices. We ripped up newspaper, made some paste and settled into forming shapes.

As is often the case when we are making something, there’s a bit of ‘I’m going to make this. I’m going to do mine like this. I’m going to…’

And then, a silence descends.

Hands busy, eyes focussed, minds taking flight. In our own worlds and yet together, in the act of making.

Oil pastel and colour pencil, 19 x 21cm 

9 thoughts on “Beauty in the act of making

      1. Thanks so much for your compliment re my leaf series. I was starting to think that people are going to have to call me ‘the leaf lady’…lol! More to come…oh dear! 😉

        Yes, experimenting is the fun of it all, and with the main software I use on my cellphone, PicSketch, one has virtually unlimited variations due to the many variables one can adjust — effects, paper, vignetting, colour/b+w — they all bring their own textures lighting toning and so on. It’s a veritable feast! I’m definitely having fun, and learning that this particular program works best with simple content.

        Like

      2. I wonder if you might like ‘Li: Dynamic Form in Nature’ by David Wade on surface patterns and shape in nature – illustrated and explained – a little gem of a book. More leaf explorations please 🙂

        Like

      3. Thanks for the heads up re the book; I’ll see if I can locate it and have a look.
        Yes, there will be more ‘leaf explorations’. I haven’t shown many of the really good PicSketch images yet; I’d like to show them all in one day, but then I’d have nothing else to blog about…lol! I also do have other imagery to come not leaf-related and have already prepared some drafts of same.
        PS: I’ve been a fan of patterns in Nature for a long time. although when I was a film person, also a long time ago, most were not interested in seeing them and though them boring! I see others have caught up to me, and also do it much better than me — Freeman Patterson, Canadian photographer, is a good example. I just keep at it.

        Like

      4. Thank you – Patterson’s works are so varied and many have a storylike quality to them. Another favourite of mine is Blossfeldt’s ‘Natural art forms’. I need to consult these classic works more often. The thing with creating is to keep at it. It helps us grow, I think. Have a lovely day.

        Like

      5. Yes, I like Patterson’s sometimes ethereal quality as well as the mass plantings pix he does so well…not ‘strictly’ patterns in Nature, but kinda…I’m sure you know what I mean.
        I found the Wade book and it looks most interesting. Will see if my local library has it, or even Kobo, my eReader source of supply.

        Like

Would love to hear from you!

